MONTGOMERY COLLEGE GOVERNANCE Employee Services Council Thursday, September 12, 2019 CT S102 1 – 3 p.m.

<u>Attendees</u>

Members Present: David Torain, Elizabeth Benton, Sabrina Bielefeldt, Rich Cerkovnik (via phone), , Liz Feldman (via phone), Nicole Given, Chayanne Samuels, Santo Scrimenti, Farrah Vivas for Rowena D'Souza

Absent: Barnabas Nkemleke, Kimberly Robinson, Natalya Sacks, Dimaysone Tchouate Wanteu

Constituent: Amanda Stroud

Guests: Donna Schena, Clevette Ridguard

<u>Call to Order</u> David called the meeting to order at 1 pm.

Constituent Concerns/Comments

- Amanda Stroud told the committee about the standstill of the Special Recognition award process. She has submitted several awards, some have been processed others have not been acknowledged. She received an email from HRSTM saying the process is under review and any recent submissions will need to be resubmitted after the process is updated. To date, there has been no communication from HRSTM about the change in process.
- Clary Brown and Brian Ault in OIT have been informed of a telework change within their department. They are now only permitted to telework one day per pay period. They feel they are more productive when allowed to work from home one day per week, which was what they were allowed to do before the supervisor informed them about the change.
- David Torain would like employees to have release time to work on research papers.

Prior Meeting Minutes

• The May minutes were approved with no corrections.

Chair's Report

- Employee Engagement Advisory Group This group is tied to the employee engagement survey, which is sent every two years. ESC will be in charge of convening the group but the Administrator Council will run the meetings.
- Research teams ESC members will be split into research teams to investigate concerns.
- Governance Annual Plans Due by October 31 and should consist of 2-3 concerns related to faculty, staff, and/or students.

Meeting adjourned at 3 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Nicole Given, Employee Services Council Secretary